Tags

, , , , ,

After our vacation in Hawaii and too many delicious cocktails. It’s time to head back to the gym for a little punishment to loose those couple of pounds I have put on. The cocktails were worth it though!

Cocktails please

I have thought about trying ZUMBA but have not been brave enough! The real reason is that I lack co-ordination. My brain sends messages to my legs and feet, but somewhere along the chain, my legs and feet dont get it!, resulting in legs and feet becoming tangled up! As the book title states “Feel the Fear and do it Anyway”.

What is ZUMBA? It is a combination of a few movements that involves dance and areobics. ZUMBA also incorporates hip-hop, samba, salsa, merengue, mambomartial
arts
, and some Bollywood and belly dance moves. Squats and lunges.

Definitely going to ache in the morning!

So off to my local LA FITNESS gym not knowing what to expect.

I was realtively early but the ZUMBA Fitness Instructor was already there along with quite a few enthusiastic ladies waiting to shake their booty. I thought for a minute I had the wrong class at first. She started by going through some essential moves with her ‘belly dancing belt’ shimmying as she moved. She certainly had the moves, not only that but she was so exuberant and very flexible!

As a novice and not to embarrass myself I joined the class towards the rear – literally. Warm up was quite ok and then on to the Zumba moves.

I have to say I am now a convert. ZUMBA is energetic, it’s so much fun and I am now hooked. So much so I am thinking of going again this week. That will mean pilates yesterday, ZUMBA today and if I can get out of bed in the morning – body works with abs (this class is mighty cruel but again brilliant). Who said No pain no gain?

My recommendation: Get fit and join in ZUMBA fitness, it doesn’ matter if you are a novice like me. Go and laugh and enjoy.

stretching out

